Tea Bagging and Friendships

Image

I feel like I’m losing many of my friends to the dark side and I don’t quite know how to deal with it. I think a lot of my friends have started seeing guys who seem to lean more to the Tea Bagger side than to the liberal side. I’m noticing my friends posting more obsessive pro-American posts and a lot of stuff about loving the army and hating President Obama. I would have thought living in Massachusetts would have saved me from so much of this but apparently not.

Now the easiest thing to do would be ignore these things and just stay off of this subject with them but I’m not very good at either of those things. I love my friends so much but it happens all the time that people go in different directions in life and lose touch. I’ve lost touch with a lot of friends over the years because they’ve moved or our lives went in different directions. This never seems to end though, the older you get the harder it is to sustain friendships. At least, it is for me I guess.

I get that it’s not easy on their end to see me sharing things on Facebook about recycling or about changing gun laws or about being disappointed in my country. But to be fair it seems a lot of their stuff is much more aggressive, but maybe I’m just sensitive. Ok, I’m definitely too sensitive. I wish there was a way to block Tea Bagging stuff from my Facebook because I can’t help but get upset when I see such stuff like “IF YOU DON’T LIKE AMERICA — JUST GET OUT.” That pisses me off because:

A. Just because I don’t think American is perfect (and obviously you don’t either since you don’t like the president and many other things about this country) doesn’t mean I have to leave.
B. I actually would love to move away and experience something other than the United States but I can’t afford to go anywhere else.
C. I firmly believe that coddling your child isn’t going to help them become the best they can be so why would it be good for your country?

It’s hard to find ways to be friends with people you love but disagree with so fundamentally. Most people seem to be able to put this aside and pretend it doesn’t exist, I guess I’m just not built this way.

One thought on “Tea Bagging and Friendships

  1. You hang in there! I’m a white, 47 year-old proud liberal! I live with my wife and two little boys in the New Jersey suburbs, and we all LOVE President Obama. We are also surrounded by a great deal of conservatives who carry on the idiotic “birther” nonsense and talk about “wanting to keep their guns”. You find a way to co-exist—and you keep your liberal friends closer. Good luck! ML

Leave a Reply

