Goodbye My Baby Boy

I had no choice but still I had to suck it up and do what was best for the sweetest little furboy on the planet. My little guy who has given me so much happiness over the past 9 years, I had to let him go. He’s been such a fighter his entire life because I believe he really wanted to live and wanted to be with us. He loved his life.

When we first got him.

When we first got him he got a scratch on his eyeball, we have no proof but it was probably caused by Aurora. We were told he would have a 50/50 chance of losing the eye all-together and he recovered completely.

His poor left eye.

Years later he was sitting on our bed and I was petting him when he suddenly cried out in pain. I looked closer under his fur and found a huge gash on his side, I was in total shock. It was 10:00 at night so we rushed him to an animal emergency room. It turned out he had been cut somehow (probably another animal from outside) and now had an abscess. They had to keep him overnight to clean it and stitch him up. I happened to be home from work that week so I got to sit with him all day long as he healed and we bonded like never before. I think at that point he realized I was his mommy.

Snuggled with mummy.

Several years after that he had a urinary blockage, which is deadly in cats. Luckily we caught it right away because we noticed a difference in his behavior. We rushed him to the doctor and changed his diet and he came through like a champ!

Back on my lap again.

Pilot has always been an adventurous cat. Many times he’s stayed outside long past his bedtime, once he stayed out for a day and a 1/2! He loves to get on top of things, into things and genuinely loves everyone.

Can I go out and play now? Please?

Wandering the neighborhood.

Chasing a chipmunk.

On top of a canopy.

Bust most importantly, he loved us…even Aurora.

A rare moment together.

To fully express Pilot and what he meant to me isn’t even possible so this will be the best I can do for now. I have a page for him on Facebook (The Fighter Pilot) and there I can share pictures from over the years and remind myself of what a wonderful 9 years I had with him and I wouldn’t take it back for all the pain I have to go through now.

On Monday September 17th we had to say goodbye to him and he died in my arms. I was his mommy and he was my little boy. I miss him so much and of all the cats I’ve had in my life I’ve never connected with a cat like I did with him. I miss him every second of the day and would do anything to have him on my lap again or looking at me from the floor like he needs a cuddle.

I carry your heart (I carry it in my heart).

Goodbye my Moonpie.

His last moments with us at home.

Leave a Reply

